The Oldest Surviving American-Made Baby Shoes

I found the most adorable collection of baby shoes online.  The company that makes them is Kepner-Scott and they’re the oldest surviving maker of children’s shoes in the US. They’ve been making shoes for infants, toddler and kids since 1888. They look just like the ones my siblings and I used to have as kids. This is exactly the kind of thing I was looking for for my son. What a great looking product, what a great tradition.

Their website has dozens of cute styles but I couldn’t find a way to place an order for one pair of shoes. Or prices. I called the company and spoke to a very helpful representative named Sue Murphy. She explained that the site was designed and intended for stores to place orders but that she gets more calls from individuals looking to order a pair or two as opposed to stores. Apparently, once people find Kepner-Scott online, they fall in love with them. I know I did.

Ms. Murphy was happy to look up the store closest to me that carries their shoes. I’m in Brooklyn, the store is in Jersey City. But she said she’d be happy to take orders over the phone if I wasn’t able to get to the store or find the style I wanted in Jersey City. She couldn’t have been more helpful. I will definitely be placing an order soon.

There are a few websites that also carry Kepner-Scott shoes, however the sites don’t carry all styles. Prices vary from style to style but the websites below can give you a general idea for pricing. I was shocked to see how reasonable the prices were. I’ve definitely paid more in a department store for foreign-made children’s shoes. If you’re interested in shopping online, here’s where you can do it:

http://www.usab2c.com/   (search for Kepner-Scott)

http://www.proudamericantradingpost.com/Kepner-Scott-Shoe-Company_bymfg_48-0-1.html

I was really worried that I’d have to pay through the nose at a boutique because so much of what used to be (and still are) our affordably-priced basics, especially from the bigger companies, have moved production off-shores. I was scared to potentially find out we’d farmed out so many jobs that there wouldn’t be any simple options left at home. I’m so glad I found this company. But worried too. How sad to say you’re the oldest-surviving American shoe maker for kids; to have watched so many other companies fold or move out. Then again, to be able to say that you’ve been doing what you’re doing for over 100 years, to have been in business since the 19th century…Kepner-Scott must be doing something right. I can’t wait to order a pair. Or two. Or three…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Oldest Surviving American-Made Baby Shoes

  1. Liz Setton says:

    Great find. When Paulie’s done with them you should have them bronzed to keep on your dresser.

  2. Thank you for featuring our company in your blog. We are now also on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/kepnerscottshoes.

Leave a Reply

